top of page
  • grahamcmorgan1963

SPRING EQUINOX


SPRING EQUINOX

Charlotte throwing a piece of bread at the ducks in a wild, unfocussed gesture and then dashing back to us as they start rushing her, screaming, laughing, breathless. James later on, mooching down, saying he will throw just the one piece to them so that they do not attack him.

Charlotte scattering bread later; oblivious to the swan that is bigger than her, waddling up behind her. Wendy picking her up, taking her away; throwing the remains of the bread away.

Me sitting on the sand, trying to be unconcerned, trying to say,

‘This is my bit of beach and I am not doing anything wrong!’

The swan staring at me. Me, doing the unconcerned staring it out thing until it pecks me on my knee and I retreat with not much dignity!

Blue, blue, sky. Small piles of stones separated from the sand. Blackcurrent juice and salads. Oh! I am proud of my maftouf or whatever that grain is called.

Slight specks of snow on the mountains, speedboats on the loch. Carrying Charlotte who complains constantly of sand in her boots.

Looking at the map of the islands, the castles, the asylum, the yew tree groves.

Eating biscuits from the shop, bought in haste when the children had meltdowns because we would not buy toys for them. Tourists like us, ambling. A cottage with Buddha statues and prayer flags in the garden. I wonder at the people sitting at the table; wonder how much the houses cost.

I look up and see distant figures trekking up the hill beyond the village.

(Photo:Luss 2021)


18 views

Recent Posts

See All

DISCHORD

bottom of page